League Information


The American Collegiate Hockey Association (ACHA) was founded in 1991 and is the National Governing Body for Non-NCAA Collegiate Hockey throughout the United States.

Our organization of more than 461 colleges and university-affiliated teams representing 48 states and 2 Canadian provinces provides a structure, regulates operations, and promotes the sport of Hockey nationwide.  ACHA Men’s Division III Level has more than 125+ teams.

With approximately 13,000 players and coaches as well as countless volunteers and game officials, the ACHA has experienced tremendous growth over the past decade and continues to be a viable option for college-bound student-athletes to continue playing competitive hockey nationwide.

The primary mission of the ACHA is to support the growth of Collegiate Hockey while emphasizing academic performance, personal development, and opportunities for regional, national and international competition.


The Michigan Collegiate Hockey Conference (MCHC) is an ACHA Division III conference made up of smaller colleges and universities in the state of Michigan.

ACHA National Champions

The MCHC has produced 14 National Championship teams, the most of any Division 3 conference, including Ferris State (1994), Muskegon Community College (2003), Calvin College (2004), Saginaw Valley State (2009, 2010), Adrian College-Gold (2012, 2013, 2014), Michigan State University (2015), Oakland University (2016), Aquinas College (2017), Hope College (2018, 2021) and Sault College (2019). SVSU became the first school in Division 3 history to not only win two National Championships but to do it in back-to-back years. Adrian College-Gold later became the first school in Division 3 history to not only make three straight National Championship Games but to win all three.

Regular Season Format

The MCHC is divided into two divisions: East and West. Teams play each team within their division twice (home and away). Teams earn two points for a win, one point for an overtime loss, and one point for a tie (no shootouts). The team with the most points at the end of the season wins their division. If two teams earn the same amount of points, they will be co-winners (no tie-breaker).

East Opponents:
Adrian College
Central Michigan University
Lawrence Tech University
University of Michigan
University of Michigan-Flint